Reference numberPS
TitleCourts of Petty Sessions (Magistrates)
Date19th century-20th century
DescriptionCounty Petty Sessions (pre 1974)
Amounderness PSAM
Bacup PSRD
Blackburn Hundred PSBL
Bolton PSBO
Bolton by Bowland PSBB, see DDX 1441/3 - 6
Burnley PSBY
Burnley and Colne PSBC
Church PSCH
Clitheroe PSCT
Colne PSCN
Darwen PSDA
Fleetwood see Kirkham
Fylde see Kirkham
Garstang PSGA
Haslingden PSRD
Hornby PSHO
Kirkdale PSK
Kirkham PSKH
Leyland and Leyland Hundred PSLE
Lytham see Kirkham
Lonsdale North PSLN - Transferred to Barrow
Lonsdale South PSLS
Lonsdale South and Hornby (1955 - 74) PSLH
Manchester PSMA
Middleton PSMD
Ormskirk PSOR
Poulton see DDX 1320/1/5
Rawtenstall PSRD
Rossendale PSRD
Walton-le-Dale PSWD

Borough Petty Sessions (pre 1974)
Accrington PSAC
Barrow in Furness PSBA Transferred to Barrow Jan 1999
Blackburn PSBK
Blackpool PSBP - see also Kirkham
Burnley PSBU
Clitheroe PSCL
Colne PSCO
Darwen PSDA
Lancaster PSLA
Middleton (formerly Middleton and Tonge) PSMI
Morecambe PSMO
Nelson PSNE
Preston PSPR
Rochdale PSRO
St Helens PSSH

Magistrates Courts (post 1974)
Accrington PSAC
Blackburn PSBK
Blackpool PSBP
Darwen PSDA
Lancaster PSL
Ormskirk PSOR
Pendle PSPE
Preston PSPR
Ribble Valley PSPE
Rossendale PSRD
AccessPlease look at details of items within this collection for information about any restrictions on access or contact us for more information.
Background InformationBefore 1974, petty sessions courts (also known as magistrates courts) were of two types:

1. County petty sessions, each operating within a petty sessional division of the county
2. Borough petty sessions

In April 1974 they were reorganised and the distinction between borough and county was in effect abolished. Petty sessional divisions now covered the whole county, each division with its own court, which was now normally referred to as a magistrates court.
Related materialMaps showing the divisions can be found in the folder of administrative maps in the searchroom, especially map 26a (1926 - 34) and map 26 (1964). There is also a list of divisions in the 1850s and the townships they contained (QEV/19/13 - see binder QDS - QSC).
AccessStatusSee items
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2020